PDA

View Full Version : A Beginner That Needs Help In Order To Record The Wall Tour 2010

theboss
2010-09-04, 07:02 AM
I am new to the recording world and would like to know what equipment I need in order to record a concert. I will be attending the first performance of The Wall in Chicago and will be sitting 8th row so I thought I might give recording the concert a try. If you could also recommend what brand or type of equipment you prefer to use, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.

Stu1201
2010-09-04, 04:35 PM
Hi There,
There are some pretty good digital recorders out there. I use an Edirol RH09 and a Sony ECM719 mic. The mic is really small and has a clip - so I clip it to my t-shirt collar and then I can operate my recorder from my lap. Whats important is to get a good clear line of sight between the mics and the main PA speakers - and also to get a good input signal that absolutly does not go into the red as thats deadly distortion. I would also say try it out at an other show first, rather than first time at the wall show. Also if you talk to your friends the recording will pick that up too, so there are a few considerations when recording shows. However with a little practice you should get superb results that can be shared and appreciated by the world. Anyway good luck and enjoy the show - im going to London, UK next year, but I did see the original show in 1980 too, cant wait.
All the best Stu.

chuckmein
2010-09-05, 06:24 PM
Tascam DR-07 will do a great job with built in mics.

CM

oldpink
2010-09-05, 07:04 PM
Ditto to what Chuckmein suggested.
I have a Tascam DR-07, and it is terrific.

theboss
2010-09-05, 10:50 PM
Thank You for all of your help! I will do some research on your suggestions and will practice recording one or two concerts before The Wall. Hopefully the recording of The Wall will be decent so I can share it here on YEESHKUL!

theboss
2010-09-05, 10:59 PM