PDA

View Full Version : Some Advice please!

amalyc
07-28-2006, 07:14 AM
Hey,

newbie here, not to Floyd but to this incredibly fantastic site! I feel like a blind man who has been given the gift of sight, talk about sensory overload...

Only problem is since I am starting from scratch, I need everything! and I do have a couple questions on what is the most effective way to keep my ratio up...

The first DVD I dl'ed was the Gilmour Massey Hall #1 (which I was at!), by the time it was done I was already over 1.0 and since there was plenty of other seeders I thought I might move on to another title.

Moved on to the spectacular Waters at Cork and by the end of that I was only at .70, and I was unsure whether to leave it seeding as again there seemed to be plenty of seeders already (left it for a bit anyway).

So I am unsure if I should seed things (once I have them) that have plenty of seeders already, or try for those that have few seeders? to keep my UL/DL ratio healthy?

I have moved on to Gilmour Hammersmith 84, and it really is crawling along now, with transfer rates around 2-3KB (before I was getting 50KB and up).
Is it slowed to a trickle because my ratio is unhealthy? because the stats say there are still several seeders...?

I have lots more bandwidth than that, so can I do multiple torrents at once (i would assume yes, reading the posts around here)? Do I open multiple bit torrent clients? or does one client open multiple files? sorry for the dumb questions, but it seems I don't know how to most effectively use my time/bandwidth to max my downloads and my uploads at the same time.

thanks for any advice you may have!

and a geeneral huge thanks to the creators of this site, and the people who spend their time and effort providing this material!!!!!

tjmack
07-28-2006, 12:01 PM