Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: community consensus on circulating remastered recordings?

Thanks

Default community consensus on circulating remastered recordings?

Just wanting to touch base about this. I know I see remastered recordings. I also realize that the trading pool can be very polluted by such things. I have about 25 years of audio experience. Not claiming to be any kind of authority but I have some chops. I also have 30 years of tape trading and concert recording experience.

Sometimes I clean something up for my own enjoyment. For example on another group someone was asking about lifting the vocals in the 9/13/67 Copenhagen recording. Kind of referencing the tools used in Get Back. Got me curious so I searched my personal archive and put my hands on a lossless version that was seeded in 2005. Supposedly: Master Cassette* > DAT (x5) > flac frontend > flac "EL Source". I loaded it up to have a listen/look. Issues with hum, hiss, resonant frequencies, pitch. Of course the vocals are buried and I don't think any current technologies and anything I have access to will change that. But I did clean it up for my own listening. Then I thought to take a look at other sources here. There are obviously quite a bit. I didn't know if anyone would be interested in it, or comparing it to existing versions? Some screenshots here.

Thanks

I can't speak for others, but for myself the visual captures you posted tell me nothing really about the difference in sound. If there is some way to post a song or even a clip as a sample of your work, that would go a long way toward gaining the support of your efforts toward improving the listenability of a given source. My own personal take is that as long as the original source exists in wide circulation, it can't hurt to try to improve it, especially if done with finesse and technical wisdom.